Godspace

Have you ever felt so dreadfully alone, trying to fill up that empty inner space of your heart with things and people that definitely may not be the best choices, and may even be destructive? And the harder you try, the more messed up things tend to be.

That may be a good thing, believe it or not.

As I look back nearly forty years on the path Jesus has called me to walk with Him – especially to its beginnings – sometimes I think of that empty inner space as a gift that had its purpose: it was God’s way of letting me feel my own distance from Him.  It was like always looking across the table at an empty chair when having dinner by yourself. Who is supposed to be sitting in that chair? No other has really fit into it.

But then one day there was a knock on the door of my heart… The Caller had to come back often. He had to be persistent before I answered. And yet there was a point when I had to give up the fear of what the Caller might imply for my lonely, unhappy life. Eventually, when kicked around enough by all the things and people who did not belong in that empty chair, when I got weary enough of all of them, I answered that persistent knocking. I realized that the implication was that the only thing I was giving up was messing up. It was worth surrendering that  to Him!

Friend, has He come calling at the door of your heart?

When Jesus comes, that “Godspace”, that empty space, that vacant chair at the table, is filled up with Him, because it’s supposed to be. That’s why it’s there. It’s the place made for Christ Jesus alone. No one else – nothing else – belongs there. He entreats you, “Behold, I stand at the door and knock; if anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and will dine with him, and he with Me.” (Revelation 3:20)

He probably doesn’t care if the table is set perfectly, or even if the dishes match. Or even if some of them were left in the sink from lunch. It doesn’t matter to Him if there’s a stain on the tablecloth, or if there’s a hole in it, or even if there is no tablecloth. He will smile when He sees the chair left just for Him.

He simply wants the pleasure of your company and for you to get to know Him.

Leave a Reply

