Prayer When In A Pinch

Sometimes we need to admit, “Well, I fell off the prayer wagon again. Life has become chaotic because of it…” But here’s another way to approach it.

When it gets chaotic like that, it can be seen as an opportunity to simply aim our awareness and focus heavenward in the midst of the chaos. It is a time to “practice the Presence” of our Lord Who is omnipresent, and omnipotently connecting Heaven to earth for us as we acknowledge Him right then and there.

I think of it this way – The Captain of our souls is not only present in the quiet port, but He’s also the One present when caught in the tempest, helping us to navigate it, seeing us through. Sometimes “prayer” consists simply in acknowledging that this is how it is and handing the wheel to Him. No, God is not our co-pilot. He is fully in command. Have Your own way, Lord. Take over. I’m not able to do this, but I know You are more than able, and I thank you for it. (See link below.)

In the beginnings of our travels with Jesus, it is often a matter of falling off the prayer wagon, but getting back on again – as far as a regular special prayer time is concerned. “We should never be discouraged; take it to the Lord in prayer…,” the old hymn encourages us! The important thing is to climb back on the prayer wagon! If that is your intention, God helps you honor it. It’s not always perfect, especially at first, but He’s still there… He is really pleased that you’re making the effort, and can indeed open up life to better facilitate it.

Walk or stumble toward Him, and He runs toward you!!!

Here’s a good psalm for enforcing His promise (Deuteronomy 31:6) to never leave us or forsake us, especially in a “pinch” when it’s not easy to “feel” very spiritual.

“Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence?
If I ascend to heaven,
You are there;
If I make my bed in Sheol,
behold, You are there.
If I take the wings of the dawn,
If I dwell in the remotest part of the sea,
Even there Your hand will lead me,
And Your right hand will lay hold of me.
If I say, “Surely the darkness will overwhelm me,
And the light around me will be night,”
Even the darkness is not dark to You,
And the night is as bright as the day.
Darkness and light are alike to You.” (Psalm 139:7-12)

Additionally, it is always good to remember the simple Jesus Prayer: Lord Jesus Christ, have mercy on me!” He invites us – “Call upon Me in the day of trouble; I shall rescue you, and you will honor Me.” (Psalm 50:15)

This little prayer seems almost simplistic, but when you call out to Him, His mercy is what unfolds His miracles – which means for you that you can sail on through “the impossible” and not let circumstances get you down. Feelings can be deceptive, but we walk by faith, not feelings or sight.

“But the lovingkindness (also translated mercy) of the LORD is from everlasting to everlasting on those who fear (deeply reverence) Him, And His righteousness to children’s children.” (Psalm 103:17)
A little audio visual – Jesus Savior Pilot Me (please excuse the ads at the beginning if they show up…) Enjoy!  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1VT-kyKUvUk

Leave a Reply

