As An Ambassador Of Reconciliation, Where Is My Allegiance?

This is my feeble attempt to address this:

http://www.patheos.com/blogs/formerlyfundie/why-are-so-many-christians-worshipping-the-american-sniper/

There’s plenty in this link to keep you thinking and maybe challenged for a long time to come.

Another American hero, Gen. Hap Arnold, had this to say about war: “We must not get soft. War must be destructive and to a certain extent inhuman and ruthless.” Does this sound like the Master we claim to follow?

Saint Paul warns (Galatians 6:7) “Do not be deceived: God is not mocked, for whatever one sows, that will he also reap.”

“And behold, one of those who were with Jesus reached and drew out his sword, and struck the slave of the high priest and cut off his ear. Then Jesus said to him, “Put your sword back into its place; for all those who take up the sword shall perish by the sword. Or do you think that I cannot appeal to My Father, and He will at once put at My disposal more than twelve legions of angels?” (Mt 26:51-53)

One point I’m driving at is the matter of sowing and reaping, per the words of Jesus. What we sow, we reap. Live by the sword (gun), die by the sword (gun). It’s universal / metaphysical law He was showing us, the immutable law of God. Violence is not His way. God is the God of life. Jesus is the Prince of Peace. Unconditional love is what holds together all that is. When we step outside that, there are no guarantees.

Ouch. No, I’m not talking pro gun control, anti gun control or the Second Amendment. I’m not anti patriot either. I’m a USAF veteran. But I do think that had I the understanding I have now concerning the role of the military since at least after WW2, I would not have signed up during the Viet Nam era. Had I been born of the Spirit then, I’d have wanted to be true to everything Jesus teaches us.

So are we “taking the name of the Lord in vain” by soldiering or being patriotic? All I know is that for some reason the Holy Spirit is confronting me with some things I have been on the fence about, and to make a decision one way or another. I need to take a look at non-violence in fresh ways, not sullied by political fervor, but discerned at the feet of Jesus. I cannot speak for anyone else. One thing that draws hatred from the worldly and the churchgoer alike is when it comes to unconditional Love, especially when directed toward those who are different or our enemies. Yet that is the radical kind of Love Jesus never withheld from anyone!

Back in the day a name used to stand for something. If you had, or were given, or took someone’s name, you stood for what they stood for. It meant an allegiance to everything that name meant. You were in essence about that person’s business.

What does the Name “Jesus Christ” stand for? And at what level does peculiarly “Christian warfare” take place? Am I sanctified to the mind of Christ alone, or is my heart fickle and drawn away by the popular and very polarized politics of this planet?

Are we with Him whose kingdom is NOT of this world – meaning that our kingdom is not of this world? Are we about the Father’s business – on the Holy Spirit hotline, continually linked to Heaven’s HQ? There is always plenty of room for daily repentance, for self examination and reflection: to whom do I really belong? It’s not “what’s my line”, it’s “what’s my truth”. And then we go from there surrendering ourselves to the Holy Spirit’s grace and guidance fully.

And how do I get that grace and guidance?

I’m going to the New Living Translation to answer that, as it carries the fuller meaning of “ask, seek, and knock”.

“And so I tell you, keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you.” (Luke 11:9)

It gets even more basic. Pray for the Holy Spirit Himself to be the Light in you! “If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask Him?” (Luke 11:13).

Our heavenly Father will never give us a wrong direction if we’re truly seeking Him alone.

Originally published on my website: http://www.yvonneblasycreativeinnovations.com/412370442/2481703/posting/as-an-ambassador-of-reconciliation-where-is-my-allegiance

Leave a Reply

