Encouraging One Another In Truth

It’s Monday. Monday for many people can mean everything from a mere “ho-hum, not again” to “the world is scaring me to death”. Careful with that kind of thought!

Here are a couple of promises from Holy Scripture we can count on – whenever we feel troubled or worried about the way our life is going, or even how the trends in the world seem to be moving. ” ‘For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope. ‘ ” (Jeremiah 29:11 – This one is easy for me to remember because my birthday is 11/29.)

This also comes to mind: “And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28). The Lord reminds me today about walking by faith in His truth and not by sight – by what I perceive is “happening to” me or to my world.

It’s very important for us, especially in the challenging times in which (an interesting phrase of you think about it) “we find ourselves“.

Do I find myself as someone who knows and experiences God and His love, or do I find myself as a victim of circumstances, however that storyline may read out to you?

Many years ago when I came to know the Lord and His love, I found His written word’s many promises to be the firm and sure ground upon which I can walk in the Spirit. The circumstances may have changed. The issues may have gone from personal to domestic to professional to global, but this I can say for sure – that “He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him over for us all, how will He not also with Him freely give us all things?” (Romans 8:32). The woods may look different, but the Path never waivers as it goes steadily onward.

It may be that we just need to really get to know God better, to let Him love us, to experience His love – through His word, by drawing closer into His Presence day by day, and by faith relying on His promises given for us to discover. As He takes us on His path through the woods, we come to see that He is wholly reliable, trustworthy, and loving. So instead of agreeing with the usual lament about how awful everything “is”, let us instead focus on things through the promises in God’s word – His map for the journey and love letter to us.

Leave a Reply

