Good To Be Here

This is a commentary on electronic social networking. For awhile I took a sabbatical from Facebook. 

I wasn’t off Facebook because of Facebook’s issues, but to straighten out some of my own. I just needed a break from it for awhile, and to decide what I want to and don’t want to participate in within this electronic “venue” of “social networking”. And how much. For me that is sometimes overwhelming.

I’ve come to realize that I don’t care to participate in propaganda, whether it’s religious or political. Few if any of us understand the big picture. All it does is divide people in a time when enough waters are being stirred and we need each other. I’ve come to understand how it’s possible we’re all being used for certain agendas, and we may not even know who really stands for what in the midst of all that.

What counts is the people in our lives and that we reach out and care for one another. I don’t think I’ve been as effective in that as I should be, but instead got caught up in a lot of other paradigms and “directions” – many of which are beyond our control. Interesting? Yes. Useful? The votes are not in on that one yet.

Certainly the Serenity Prayer comes to mind here: 

Serenity Prayer
Reinhold Niebuhr (1892-1971)

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change; 
courage to change the things I can; 
and wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time; 
enjoying one moment at a time; 
accepting hardships as the pathway to peace; 
taking, as He did, this sinful world
as it is, not as I would have it; 
trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His Will; 
that I may be reasonably happy in this life
and supremely happy with Him
forever in the next. 
Amen.

( I didn’t know there was a long version either, until I looked it up.)

It’s become abundantly clear that everything changes. Something or someone is here today, gone tomorrow. I’ve come to the conclusion that “this too shall pass”, whatever the latest “medicine show” is on the planet. And it includes the cycles of the “dis-eases” the medicine shows claim to fix! None of it ever remains the same even one second to the next. It’s amazing when you consider this! Change did not come a few years ago. Change is the constant m.o. of the entirety of all that is, and has been so from the “Beginning”, if there was one, and will be until the “End”, if there is to be one. In many cases we can be thankful for this paradoxically immutable principle that everything is in motion and change. What hurts today will be gone tomorrow.

Thus my reply to every gripe and complaint is, “This too shall pass.” 

So, perhaps in the final analysis, it’s best to learn to surf rather than be taken down by an undertow. How we choose see things is what will determine that choice. 

It’s important to encourage each other, laugh together, to share humorous anecdotes and personal experiences from our own daily lives, to be and to speak peace, to care – if in no other way than saying “I hear you” by hitting the like button, to be the immensely creative, beautiful, and loving sacred individuals our Creator made us to be, in His image.

What a fabulous life we have for a few short years, shot out of the canon from nothing-ness into Something-ness. How sweet it can be. How sweet it is! And to quote my favorite dear old Captain Jean Luc Picard, it’s up to us to “make it so!”

Coming back from nowhere to now here,

Yours truly,

The Messenger

Leave a Reply

