Let’s Get Real

Image

 

Why am I posting this? First of all it’s something to think about, maybe a sort of brain twister. Hopefully a wake up for a few folks who blindly follow along with “authority” in an unquestioning manner. I like making provocative remarks now and again, because it causes people to take notice, to question, and to think. The word “provoke” comes from the Latin root “provocare”, meaning to call forth a challenge.

The other word we can look at is “reprobate”, which simply means unregenerate, someone who has not undergone the experience of a genuine spiritual rebirth and regeneration, as evidenced by the fruit of the Holy Spirit in thought, word, deed, and modus operandi. Maybe not perfect, but with the sincere intention to become.

I didn’t always like challenges. However lately, I find that I’m being challenged a bit myself. I think that when we take a stand for something worth taking a stand for, such as our faith, truth, or simply what’s right across the board, we will be challenged. That provides an opportunity to clarify matters in question, both for ourselves and for our challengers.

Earlier today I was mildly challenged, taken to task, by another Christian concerning something I posted on Facebook. It was a photo of comedian George Carlin captioned with one of his quotes, “There are certain rules I live by. My first rule: I don’t believe anything the government tells me. Nothing. Zero.”

First my challenger threw down the gauntlet with the idea that such a post is “sub biblical”. A new term for me, but yes, certainly I suppose it’s true. He responds, “St. Paul urges a much deeper respect for the government, in spite of the fact they were non-Christian”.

To which I replied, “I certainly don’t see, for example, John the Baptist not calling a spade a spade as far as the court of King Herod was concerned. Or this – ” And have no fellowship with the unfruitful works of darkness, but rather reprove them. For it is a shame even to speak of those things which are done of them in secret. But all things that are reproved are made manifest by the light: for whatsoever doth make manifest is light. Wherefore he saith, Awake thou that sleepest, and arise from the dead, and Christ shall give thee light. See then that ye walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise, Redeeming the time, because the days are evil.” (See Ephesians 5). Works of darkness must be exposed. There are simply times and epochs when governments cannot be trusted due to their utter corruption. Am I going to believe the lies that come out of this corruption? No. That’s insane. There is also much corruption and covering up in every world hierarchical system, including the church. No, I do not believe every dictate that “comes down from on high”. All I can say to these institutions is, Clean up your act and repent, so that you can become believable and respectable. For starters, I cannot believe a government that legalizes the murder of unborn babies. That in itself should make people question its veracity and reliability. The fact that so many do not question that the unconscionable goes on without too many batting an eyelash, and without the church calling them out for it, makes me wonder even just who’s really running the church these days. Questioning everything does not mean necessarily disrespect. It is less respectful not to bring things into the light, so they can at least have a crack at cleaning up their act, which clearly so far they choose to ignore.”

The response: “Yes but, all governments are staffed by sinners, as Paul well knew, still he demanded respect for the authorities. A blanket condemnation that all governing officials lie seems to me a demonic exaggeration.”

OK, so we’re going from sub-biblical to demonic? Hmmm.

So I reply,” I think that you may perhaps be putting words in my mouth. My history is that I’m an Air Force Veteran, so I deeply love the United States of America, but I cannot close my eyes and look the other way while unsavory characters are installed at every level. Certainly there are some good people who are attempting to bring some sensibility to these conundrums and to turn the situation around. Certainly we pray for government officials, while we also surrender ourselves to God’s HOLY Spirit in a daily baptism of repentance. Part of the Holy Spirit’s work is to help us see through deception of all sorts, to have our ears opened to His voice of discernment.”

So the challenger replies – and this I think was the crux of it – that this person did not approve of my posting a remark by someone they did not approve of: “I am referring to the quote from George Carlin, which you seemed to approve.”

“Well, here’s my thing on that: If God can get a message across through Balaam’s donkey, he can certainly get one across from any source. I’m not really into debate; there’s enough of that going on. But certainly these things help us clarify where we stand on specific issues.”

Truth does not always come from “the top brass” as we ideally would like to assume that it does.

Many people, will never pick up a Bible, lest it challenge them to repent, will not consider a Scripture passage, but they may stop to consider a quote from George Carlin. They won’t consider Christianity at all, frankly, because there are too many bad actors who may talk the talk but not walk the walk. That goes for the pew sitters all the way “up” to the officials who will not address the pedophilia and other corruption in the church, and then pay off the victim’s families to shut up about it, who have control of the minds of over one billion people on this planet. It goes for the mega church razzle dazzle show biz preachers who peddle New Age “wealth and success” doctrines, and the only ones who have anything to show for it are these charlatans themselves.

I don’t necessarily approve of George Carlin’s comedy style, but I do agree with the idea that we need to do our own thinking in these deceptive times and allow that truth will make its appearance as it pleases… I guess every squirrel finds a nut now and again, eh?

Leave a Reply

