Deep In The Heart Of Taxes

Image

Please read Matthew 15:15-22, emphasis on verse 21 – “Then saith he unto them, Render therefore unto Caesar the things which are Caesar’s; and unto God the things that are God’s.”

See also Matthew 17:22-27, emphasis on verse 27 – “…go thou to the sea, and cast an hook, and take up the fish that first cometh up; and when thou hast opened his mouth, thou shalt find a piece of money: that take, and give unto them for me and thee.”

Both of these texts are found in the book of Matthew, former Roman IRS agent turned Apostle.

It’s got to be the morning after. Or the week after. (Chafing, growling. The human side of this Messenger!) That day of infamy in April when We The Wee Folk discover that we’ve been smacked yet again with the obligatory fiscal two-by-four.

Hats off to all of you who got a refund. It’s not that way when your income is combined social “security” and part time self employment. At least not in my reality. It really is grossly unjust. And grossly illegal, per many.

I have a great deal of difficulty with this every year. Especially this year. We were smacked hard. You’d think that after all the required insurances (Medicare, supplemental, life, house, business, blaa, blaa, blaa!) as well as all the taxes already in place (sales, state, property, business, blaa, blaa, blaa!) that somewhere along the way we’d all wake up and realize that with all these legalized extortions in place, that somehow, some day, somewhere, someone would call an end to these ridiculous mafia-esque maneuverings!

Who are we working for anyway?!

Oh, I nearly forgot – the same gang that made the murder of millions of unborn babies into a legal holocaust over 40 years ago. Well, what a surprise. (See 1 John 5:19) No wonder it’s so hard to get anything done that’s right and just, with the banksters and bean counters running things.

This is certainly a hot button issue for a lot of people, whether you think income tax is a blessing or a part of the curse of a fallen world. I find myself not entirely surrendered to this annual crunch. “Obedient”, yes, as in dragged kicking and screaming. Surrendered, no. Guess I have some spiritual work to do in a lot of ways.

Then you also realize that, although your home is paid for, and appears to be yours on paper, there are still forces within the state that have the power to take it away if you are not fiscally compliant with property taxes (for school systems you never used due to sending your children to parochial school and home schooling combined), or any sort of taxes – even if it’s due to disability or some other pressing matter.’

The stark truth confronts you – we own nothing in this world.

Dear reader, please forgive me for this one; I’m shootin’ straight from the hip, but it was something that I had to take to the Lord in prayer because I have not been able to transcend or handle these pressing reactive emotions. The big folk get away with murder, without paying taxes at all in some cases, but it is We The Wee Folk who are oppressed beneath this Luciferian world system and agenda.

I guess this is God’s reminder that He is far greater than the challenges the world system throws at us, and He always makes a way through perceived impossibilities for us His children!  “But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:19) He’s also reminding me that, although I feel like I’m just treading water, this all really is going somewhere, and that He’s actually still in charge!

Enter Matthew, tax collector turned disciple. Oh how I would love to see this kind of conversion and change of direction in certain government agencies. I wonder what would happen if en masse they walked away from their poker faces, spreadsheets, desks, and flack jackets and put their hand in the hand of the Man Who stilled the waters?

I’m so happy grumbling about this – an indulgence I don’t always allow myself. It’s admittedly hard to cut to the chase of why I’m writing this. But here it is. I doubt that my theology is perfect. I’m just sharing the Word of encouragement given to this imperfect relayer of messages the day after by the Comforter.

Essentially it’s this: Jesus may not be addressing directly the issue of whether or not it”s “right” to pay taxes, but the fact that God provides for all His children’s needs – even within the constrictions of this fallen reality, as we render unto God that which is God’s – ourselves!

In fact He has provided a Ransom through the blood of our Elder Brother Jesus Christ for our souls – so that at some point we will know freedom from this reality in Him – maybe even in the midst of this reality! … There must be some kind of message about that when Holy Week, Passover, and income tax day all fall in the same week.

He tells the religious leaders that whatever is Caesar’s should be rendered to him, as if just maybe that by surrender to the pecking order, in some way we’re submitting ourselves to God. And then when it came to the temple tax, he tells Simon Peter to go fishing. Lo and behold there is the proper coin in the mouth of the first fish he caught!

I’ll be honest with you; I have so much resistance to being taxed at every turn, it’s difficult for me to imagine my Lord recommending that we comply with Caesar, let alone the miraculous coin in the mouth of a fish to pay a “tax” required by one’s religion! It’s just about more than I can stand.

I understand that the Lord provides, even for income taxes, but I’m really having a difficult time with “the system” at this point. It’s so over the top!

I’m confessing my faults in this one. James 5:16. “Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.” Clearly it’s me, Oh Lord, standin’ in the need of prayer!

So, I’m asking you dear reader, will you hear the confession of my weakness, and will you pray for me? Can we pray for one another so that we may be healed?

And if anyone has some wisdom to share, please offer some comments, but all I ask is that you be gentle – and that it be wisdom, not reaction.

I now look forward to the day when the kingdoms of this world become the kingdoms of our Lord and of His Christ, and He shall reign forever and ever, as King of kings and Lord of Lords, and the day when the “meek” shall inherit the Earth. We can take refuge and hope in His promises! To His name be all glory now and throughout all eternity! (Revelation 11:15. Psalm 37:11. Matthew 5:5)

Many thanks for listening, and may the blessings of the Omnipotent Father be ever with you.

PS:  Illustrated abstractly above by yours truly.

Leave a Reply

