Cross Purposes 1 / Hangin’ With Jesus

Image

Scriptural Affirmation:

Galations2:20. “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.” [KJV]

As I quietly escape into the quiet sacred space of communion with my Heavenly Father, within my innermost being, I leave behind the attractions and aggravations of the outer world, releasing them completely.

I reckon with the fact that, although I live in a physical body in a physical universe, these outer realities no longer determine my life, nor do they have any claims to my heart or mind. No longer must I be driven by these physical and finite matters, but rather, as Jesus experienced, I am now attuned and at one with the Voice of my Heavenly Father, to be about His business and that alone.

The spiritual truth is that the old me, my false ego-driven self, also called the Old Adam, was put to death with my Lord Jesus Christ in His death on the cross. This is a beautiful mystery well worth affirming and pondering every day of my life. If only I will choose to live by it, I can experience all that it means for me! Daily I recognize and affirm this reality.

And now it is the risen Christ, Who by the vision that is my faith, and more importantly by the Holy Spirit’s power, lives from within me, as the new me – since I have been co-crucified with Him in His death, and raised up with Him to a brand new life in His resurrection.

How exciting it is to come to this awareness – that the old has passed away, and that all things are already become new! In Jesus Christ I am a new creation.

I understand that all things representing the old me – the desires of the flesh, of the eyes, and the things appealing to the boastful pride of life – have passed away with all temporal things, for they are not of the Father, but of the world which is always passing away. Finite things have been exchanged for infinite things through my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. In practical terms, I affirm that these temporal pursuits, attractions, and concerns have been exchanged for a heart seeking only to do the will of the Lord, which abides forever.

I find that I am like a ship sailing freely by the Winds of the Spirit, no longer anchored, weighed down, or moored to the many finite and fleeting matters which, when they are attached to us and we to them, keep us from the true and lasting freedom for which Jesus Christ has indeed set us free. Thus my course is governed and directed toward my highest good by the Unseen Hand of Supernal Love who ransomed me from sin, death, the evil one, the worldly mind, and the flesh.

I discover anew each day that I am more free than the last, and I experience that divine freedom more and more every day, finding greater joy, peace, healing, and unconditional love! And I am also now free to be an instrument whom God can use to pour these out to others, so that they may also experience God’s grace. I wish to say with Jesus that if you have seen me, you have seen the Father.

With these reminders concerning what has been done for me and what is being done by God’s power within me, I can once again go forward from this moment on, in complete renewal, with new vision, and in the unparalleled love, wisdom, and faith of Christ. I realize that the small things, which used to characterize the pursuits of my life, were limited and finite, when compared with the exceeding greatness of the Lord’s power to all who believe. I easily release them and surrender myself, in exchange for the amazing work now being wrought in me and in my life through the very power of God – a work to which my Lord attested, “It is finished!” so very long ago. I merely now tap into that which already is!

With the apostle Paul I give thanks and rejoice in the mystery which has been hidden from ages and from generations, but now is made manifest to His saints, to whom God would make known what is the riches of the glory of this mystery, which is Christ in me, the hope of glory. [Colossians 1:26,27]

May the name of the Heavenly Father, our Lord Jesus Christ, and the Holy Spirit be honored and proclaimed forever – by the attitude, thoughts, words, and deeds which are His work in all who are called by His name.

To God be the glory, now and forever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

