The Power Of Words

Regarding the use of profanity – well, it’s “only” words, right? I can do as I please, speak as I will; it’s my “right”.

I fall into the trap myself at times, and it is not a thing I’m proud of. So I’m made aware of it by my “mirrors”, and reminded that it requires more diligence to be rid of a very bad habit.

Which leads to the purpose of genuine spiritual practice – to be set free from the things that tie us to this realm and to our destructive tendencies thru the transforming power of the HOLY Spirit. Having a foul mouth is one of those things that needs to change. . .

As far as the matter of “judging” goes, how about raising the bar to the matter of discernment? I’m no longer willing to compromise who I am either, as a Christian and an ordained minister. If I’m a minister, I ought to be in some cases calling a spade a spade, as we’re admonished to do in the Holy Scriptures. I go there for my marching orders, not to the appeal of pop spirituality and if it feels good do it. Scripture is still the best guide to Perennial Wisdom I know of. And I will not compromise its input any longer.

Here’s a tidbit from Wisdom, that will not lead anyone astray, taken from James 1:21,22, 26 – “Therefore putting aside all filthiness and all that remains of wickedness, in humility receive the word implanted, which is able to save your souls. But prove yourselves doers of the word, and not hearers only who delude themselves… If anyone thinks himself to be religious, and yet does not bridle his tongue but deceives his own heart, this man’s religion is worthless.” An unbridled tongue is not the way to peace; it is a tool of residual reactionary-ism and the reptilian mind.

A solution, for anyone who is interested, for curbing the inner reactionary, coming again from Scripture specifically Colossians 4:8,9 – “… whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, let your mind dwell on these things. The things you have learned and received and heard and seen in me [the epistle writer, not yours truly], practice these things, and the God of peace shall be with you.”

Maybe if we put Wisdom into practice, our nation, our world, and often our lives would be far better off than what is manifesting today. That’s the dark side of “The Secret”, which is really no secret at all but the reality of the laws of metaphysics – there’s a Light side and a dark side to it. Somewhere along the way, the guiding principles that sustain life and goodness have been cast aside. It’s time to restore them again.

2 thoughts on “The Power Of Words

  1. Goodness has its own reward though this reward may be realised after sometimes but it will certainly come through. It is also because the goodness has association and blessings of our LORD.

Leave a Reply

